Below is a list of Brooklyn Community Board 9's Committees and their descriptions.

About Committee Meetings

Committees are comprised of board members and members of the community. They address Community District 9 issues pertaining to Parks, Public Safety, Transportation, Economic Development, the Environment, and others. Committee meetings are open to the public.

Committee & Chair


Chair: Patricia Baker
Meets on the 3rd Tuesday of the Month.
The Executive Committee is comprised of elected officers of Community Board 9.
Chair: Unella Rhone-Perry
Schedule varies.
The 197-a Committee is responsible for developing a master plan for Community District 9.
Economic Development
Chair: Pia Raymond
Meets on the 2nd Monday of the Month.
The Economic Development Committee focuses on the economic revitalization needs for the district.
Chair: William Boone III
Meets on the 1st Tuesday of the Month.
The Education Committee is responsible for advocating for the educational needs of the district.
Environmental Protection
Chair: Simone Bennett
Meets on the 2nd Monday of the Month.
The Environmental Protection Committee is responsible for addressing the environmental needs of the district.
Health and Social Services
Chair: Francisca Leopold
Meets on the 1st Thursday of the Month.
The Health and Social Services Committee addresses the district’s needs for social services.
Chair: Beverly Newsome
Meets on the 2nd Wednesday of the Month.
The Housing Committee is responsible for addressing housing related needs in the district.
Parks, Recreation and Culture
Chair: Vivia Morgan
Meets on the 2nd Wednesday of the Month.
The Parks and Recreation Committee advocates for maintenance and rehabilitation of existing parks and playgrounds and advocates for additional open space
Public Safety
Chair: Rashidah Siddiqui
Meets on the 2nd Thursday of the Month.
The Public Safety Committee addresses public safety issues related to Police and Fire Safety.
Transportation Committee
Chair: Augustine Blackwell
Meets on the 1st Thursday of the Month.
The Transportation Committee is responsible for transportation related matters including street improvement projects and public transportation issues,
Chair: Unella Rhone-Perry
Meets on the 1st Tuesday of the Month.
The ULURP Committee deals with Land Use and Zoning (Variance)issues.
Youth Services
Chair: Mattijs Limberger
Meets on the 1st Tuesday of the Month.
The Youth Services Committee is responsible for conducting district-wide youth services needs assessments, and developing plans for filling any gaps in services provided for young people.